York Art Gallery

The Aesthetica Art Prize 2024

16 February – 21 April 2024

Book now

York Art Gallery will host the Aesthetica Art Prize for the twelfth year this February. The exhibition features the work of 20 artists covering a vast range of media, from drawing to large-scale sculpture to digital media. The Aesthetica Prize champions some of the world’s most significant talent in contemporary art and contributes to a global dialogue around creative practice today.

Featured artists include photographers Jee Young Lee, whose photography series Stage of Mind plays with scale and surrealist elements, and Margeaux Walter, whose series Don’t Be a Square asks questions about layering and liminal spaces. Film is widely represented, including works by artists Hussina Raja, Kenji Ouellet, and Atonia Luxem. Innovative sculptural works fill the gallery space, including works by Mo H. Zareei and Cinzia Campolese. Many of the artists featured blur the boundaries between digital and analogue media, prompting viewers to think about the overlap between different types of artworks.

The Aesthetica Art Prize is an annual platform for the world’s best artists. The award’s alumni continue to demonstrate excellence across the globe, from residencies and renowned awards to publications and must-see exhibitions. Prize alumni have achieved further exhibitions at Tate Modern, The Photographers’ Gallery, MoMA PS1, Foam Amsterdam, V&A, Barbican, Guggenheim, Saatchi Gallery, Centre Pompidou and more. They have won, or been nominated for a range of prestigious awards, including the Prix Elysée, FOAM Talent, the Jarman Award, Taylor Wessing Portrait Prize, John Moore’s Painting Prize and Sony World Photography Awards. Collectively, they have achieved publication and further recognition in Frieze, Art Review, Vice, Dezeen, Wallpaper, The Sunday Times, The Guardian, The Independent, The New Yorker, Kinfolk, New York Times Magazine amongst others.

The Aesthetica Art Prize Exhibition runs between 16 February and 21 April 2024 at York Art Gallery and is a testament to shared creativity in a time of rapid change. Entry to the exhibition can be booked in advance on the York Art Gallery website.

A list of the works with images can be found on the website here: Aesthetica Art Prize – Aesthetica Art Prize (aestheticamagazine.com)

Artists featured in this year’s exhibition are:

Hussina Raja

Gala Hernández López

Ayrton ‘Sam’ Mendes

Kenji Ouellet

Maryam Tafakory

Sigita Silina

Antonia Luxem

Edgar Martins

Cinzia Campolese

Caroline Jane Harris

Thomas Jenkins

Margeaux Walter

JeeYoung Lee

Heather Agyepong

Kriss Munsya

Mo H. Zareei

Yevhen Samuchenko

Alexej Sachov

Donna Mclean

Almudena Torró

Brigitte Amarger